Toddlers & Preschoolers

FebPenguins
Your child's teacher and Facebook
October 2, 2012 at 7:00 AM

Are you friends on FB with your childs teacher? Do you expect to be? Does it matter what age your child is? ie: I'll be friends with childs teacher until she is in grade X. I have a kindergardener, and thought contact with the teacher would be pretty easy thru FB. Should I be 'bothering' her through there, or should I be using the email address she provided at the beginning of the school year?

Are you FB friends with your child's teacher?
  • Only group members can vote in this poll.
  1. 14% - Yes
  2. 75% - No
  3. 9% - Other

Replies

• momofkandb
    October 3, 2012 at 10:59 PM

As a teacher, I do not friend my students or their parents.  The only exception that I have to this rule is people I was friends with BEFORE I was their child's teacher.  Please don't put that kind of awkwardness between you and the teacher.  My FB page is for my friends and family, I don't want to be friends outside of school.  That is my personal area, I like to keep it that way.

• Gwendlite
    October 3, 2012 at 11:28 PM

I don't use Facebook.

• qqhotplay
    October 4, 2012 at 1:20 AM

DONT DO IT. YOU DONT NEED TO BE IN THEIR PERSONAL LIFE.

• CrystalDawn2506
    October 4, 2012 at 3:25 AM

No. I rather not have a teacher pry into my life no more then they already have to.

• vamaria
    by vamaria
    October 4, 2012 at 6:40 AM
    I am FB friends with some of my former HS teachers, just to keep in touch, and some of my former students, but no, I would not recommend friending the teacher. She needs her space, too. I value the continued contact, but there definitely needs to be a separation while she is teaching. Maybe friend her after the year ends, if all goes well.
  • workoutmom2b1g
    October 4, 2012 at 6:48 AM
    No. FB is her personal webpage in my opinion. It would be weird to me.
  • Christine0813
    October 4, 2012 at 7:00 AM

Agree.

Quoting mamamedic69: