Babies

Featured Posts
ashybaby87
Pregnant with baby #2 with a 5 year old daughter
January 27, 2013 at 9:11 PM

We just found out we're expecting our 2nd baby with an estimated due date of October 2nd, 2013. My daughter just made 5 on January 25th. She's excited about the baby, but wow, I feel like I'm starting all over almost like I've never done this before! lol. I almost feel crazy saying that, but true. I remember with her I spent ENDLESS nights on CafeMom researching so many things and now I find myself wanting to do it all over again. Am I crazy?? haha. But anyway, what are some tips? I'm sure things have changed since 2008. How do you deal with a 5 year age gap as far as with the pregnancy and the whole bringing the new baby home? Just any advice would be good because I'm not even sure of what to ask. 

Replies

• sunfire79
    January 28, 2013 at 2:00 PM

My daughter was 6 when my son was born and I love the age gap!  Yes, we are starting over, but I don't feel overwhelmed trying to take care of two little ones.  My daughter can be in her room playing or watching tv while I"m taking care of the baby.  Luke adores his big sister and loves to watch her...whatever she is doing.  And she loves to play with him and hold him.  Shes not big on feeding him or changing his diaper, but she helps with everything else!

• paknari
    by paknari
    January 28, 2013 at 2:02 PM
    I'm in the same boat as you! My daughter turned 5 dec. 27th and I'm die with our secondarch 10th. I feel nervous but my daughter is so independent that I think I may benefit from the age difference!
  • ashybaby87
    January 28, 2013 at 3:38 PM

Yea, I definitely think there will be some benefits of the age gap!

Quoting paknari:

I'm in the same boat as you! My daughter turned 5 dec. 27th and I'm die with our secondarch 10th. I feel nervous but my daughter is so independent that I think I may benefit from the age difference!

• la_bella_vita
    January 28, 2013 at 8:26 PM