Advice for Moms

mandadbaker
In need of advice...
February 7, 2013 at 12:08 AM

I am a 19 year old about to be 20 year old mother and fiance. At the moment me and my fiance live with his family. Recently my 8 month old daughter has gotten an infection around her ladie part. Its emotionally draining and i just don't know how to handle it. My mother in law is helping me out a lot. Something about it though, urks me a lot and i don't want to be that kind of person. I love her help but sometimes she can be pushy. I know I'm new to this and sometimes when she gets sick i feel as if it is all my fault. I've also been told that it is possible the more she learns to talk she could possilby start calling her grandma, mommy. I REALLY REALLY do not want that happening. It would break my heart in two. What would you all do?

Replies

• doulala
    by doulala
    February 7, 2013 at 1:06 AM

Can you spend more time out of the house (esp when gramma is there)?
    Are you doing sign language with your daughter?

• offrdngal
    February 7, 2013 at 6:52 AM

You and your fiance need to tell grandma that while you appreciate the help, she needs to be GRANDMA and do grandma things, not MOM things.  You need to stand firm about this and fiance must be on the same page as you.

• PerfectVirgo
    February 7, 2013 at 6:54 AM
    Just politely tell her that you'd like to do it yourself and learn.
  • abecee
    by abecee
    February 7, 2013 at 7:19 AM

As you are talking to your dd always refer to her grandmother as grandma, repeatedly. "look there's grandma", "say hi to "grandma", do you want to give this to "grandma".  If you should ever hear your daughter call her mom, correct her gently but immediately.

Also, don't allow your soon to be mother inlaw to have that much time and control with your dd.

• ruggy03
    by ruggy03
    February 7, 2013 at 7:28 AM