Advice for Moms

Featured Posts
mmccrea
How much should my husband do?
by mmccrea
October 13, 2012 at 11:08 PM

We have an odd situation.  My husband was transferred to work in MN, 6 hours away from any of our family.  So we moved.  We have no friends/family around, with the exception of one very busy friend.  I am a SAHM and student.  He works 4 days on, 4 days off.  13 hour shifts, overnights, he runs a Walmart.  I do all the housework, meals, bills, and pet care (we have a dog and cat).  We always argue over how much he should have to pitch in with watching our son.  We don't get breaks at all, unless we travel to visit our families.  On the days he works, we see him maybe an hour, and he is a zombie (not good for conversation!).  His first day off, he is...a zombie.  I know he is working hard, but I want him to do more with our son, or do the dishes once a week or something.  What should I be able to ask from him that is fair?  

Replies

• Jenn8604
    October 13, 2012 at 11:12 PM
    4 days off and only day one hes a zombie. To me that would mean my dh would be doing half the housework those days. If I was a SAHM that does not make me the slave of the house or the only parent. Hed also be spending quality time with his son.
    But thats just me. Do whatever.
  • Mommy2justone
    October 13, 2012 at 11:13 PM
    He wouldn't be watching his son, he would be taking care of him. And I would just tell him you need him to do it and walk away. His son needs his dads care as well

• bcauseimthemom
    October 13, 2012 at 11:14 PM

If he gets four days off in a row, at least on two of those days he should be helping with all of the household tasks as well as PArENtINg his own child.  I'd take a few hours on one of those days he has off and just leave the house.  Go to the mall and window shop, go have coffee, go to the library, get a mani/pedi... do something for yourself.

• RobJar
    by RobJar
    October 13, 2012 at 11:16 PM