Featured Posts
mmccrea
How much should my husband do?
by mmccrea
October 13, 2012 at 11:08 PM

We have an odd situation.  My husband was transferred to work in MN, 6 hours away from any of our family.  So we moved.  We have no friends/family around, with the exception of one very busy friend.  I am a SAHM and student.  He works 4 days on, 4 days off.  13 hour shifts, overnights, he runs a Walmart.  I do all the housework, meals, bills, and pet care (we have a dog and cat).  We always argue over how much he should have to pitch in with watching our son.  We don't get breaks at all, unless we travel to visit our families.  On the days he works, we see him maybe an hour, and he is a zombie (not good for conversation!).  His first day off, he is...a zombie.  I know he is working hard, but I want him to do more with our son, or do the dishes once a week or something.  What should I be able to ask from him that is fair?  

Replies

• mmccrea
    by mmccrea
    October 13, 2012 at 11:32 PM

Quoting Acid:

He's working overnights.  13 hours a day.  Midnight shifts are incredibly hard to deal with.  

Don't whine or beg or get mad.  Just say I'd like it if you'd do the dishes for me tonight and I'll bathe Ichabod. 

Or, would you please take Ichabod for a walk to the park and I'll finish up the dishes...

You catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar.

Yeah, he hasn't been adjusting to the overnight shift well.  I think you advice I will have to try tomorrow when he gets home at 8AM and I make him "dinner."  

• CoeyG
    by CoeyG
    October 13, 2012 at 11:36 PM