Advice for Moms

Featured Posts
mmccrea
How much should my husband do?
by mmccrea
October 13, 2012 at 11:08 PM

We have an odd situation.  My husband was transferred to work in MN, 6 hours away from any of our family.  So we moved.  We have no friends/family around, with the exception of one very busy friend.  I am a SAHM and student.  He works 4 days on, 4 days off.  13 hour shifts, overnights, he runs a Walmart.  I do all the housework, meals, bills, and pet care (we have a dog and cat).  We always argue over how much he should have to pitch in with watching our son.  We don't get breaks at all, unless we travel to visit our families.  On the days he works, we see him maybe an hour, and he is a zombie (not good for conversation!).  His first day off, he is...a zombie.  I know he is working hard, but I want him to do more with our son, or do the dishes once a week or something.  What should I be able to ask from him that is fair?  

Replies

• ShannieP
    October 14, 2012 at 1:34 PM
    You're about an hour from me :) I live in the Plymouth/maple grove area

Quoting mmccrea:

We live in Forest Lake, MN.  

Quoting ShannieP:

I live in a suburb of the cities :)

Dh IS missing out and that's a shame :(

Quoting mmccrea:

Do you live by the Twin Cities??  I feel like he should want to spend more time with Eli too.  Eli is a very good toddler, and does the funniest things, but he's really missing out. :(  I wish my MIL would hate me.  She calls all the time.

Quoting ShannieP:

He should WANT to spend time with his son and he should help you out. Everyone needs a break sometimes!

PS, I moved to MN with no friends as well! We have MIL and SIL but they both hate me, lol

• ShannieP
    October 14, 2012 at 1:34 PM
    You're about an hour from me :) I live in the Plymouth/maple grove area

Quoting mmccrea:

We live in Forest Lake, MN.  

Quoting ShannieP:

I live in a suburb of the cities :)

Dh IS missing out and that's a shame :(

Quoting mmccrea: