smalltowngal
What is your debate style? S/O
July 5, 2013 at 1:41 PM
Ok, everyone describe your debate style. Are you laid back? Do you have any problem calling someone and idiot if you think like they are acting like one. Do you have a list of links ready at all times?

Replies

• romalove
    July 5, 2013 at 1:46 PM

I like to debate on the facts presented.  I "can" Google for links but do it judiciously.  Often my debates are couched as questions for the other side, so to speak.  I believe it is possible (usually) to debate and discuss with people I don't agree with while keeping things civil.

• Gerbert
    by Gerbert
    July 5, 2013 at 1:51 PM

Im new to this. I think I'm pretty laid back and try not to call names. I speak more from the heart rather than the brain.

• snookyfritz
    July 5, 2013 at 1:52 PM

I try to avoid making things personal.  I know there are a lot of people here who specialize in that.  I just abruptly end the conversation when the "YOU's" start being thrown around.  Life's too short to take on grumblers

• AlekD
    by AlekD
    July 5, 2013 at 1:56 PM

Yup. Same here. For the most part I try to keep things factual and civil and I have no shame in simply walking away from a debate that has devolved into You vs. Me.

Quoting snookyfritz:

I try to avoid making things personal.  I know there are a lot of people here who specialize in that.  I just abruptly end the conversation when the "YOU's" start being thrown around.  Life's too short to take on grumblers

• lancet98
    July 5, 2013 at 2:00 PM

You have GOT to be joking.

'Not being afraid' to call someone an idiot never furthered any discussion of any type.

I don't believe a 'list of links' really proves anything in a debate.   Whole dissertations have been written on how crappy the information at those 'links' really is.   Internet sources are ridiculously innacurate, incomplete, biased and out of date, and are no reliable source of 'information'.