30 Something Moms

Featured Posts
shoffboy2013
New
April 3, 2013 at 1:17 PM

Hello, i'm new to cafe mom.  I heard this was a good site to talk to other moms.  i am expecting my first in May. We are having a boy and the due date is may 22.  Does anyone have advice for any pain medication when i'm in labor?  I'm debating an epidural.  But i'm just not sure if thats the route i want to go.  I know/think i will need something for the pain. Just not sure what is the best option here.  What is your advice??

Replies

• lesh1013
    April 3, 2013 at 1:26 PM

Hi & welcome  :)

I ended up getting the demural (sp?) shot after laboring for 6 or 7 hours...all that did for me was make me sleep in between the contractions.  I felt high as hell, and think I "passed out" between contractions.  lol  After that wore off (about an hour or 2 I think...it was all a blur) I labored with nothing, just me & my DH & our Doula.  I ended up getting the epidural about 4 or 5 pm when baby's heart rate kept dropping (I went into labor at 2am) then contractions stopped...so i had to have pitocin.  I won't lie...the epidural is NICE...and if you have a good anesthesiologist & hospital staff it doesn't hurt when they do it.  
    We wanted to go the natural route so that's why I held off on it for so long.  I ended up having to have a c-section, but baby is here & healthy now. 

You may surprise yourself with what you and your body can do.  It was a very painful experience, not gonna lie  :)...but the coolest thing at the same time. 

• belindah
    April 3, 2013 at 2:05 PM

Hi I am Belinda.  I had an epidural and loved it with two of mine.

• lalasmama2007
    April 3, 2013 at 2:50 PM

Hello and welcome!

• rocrobin90
    April 3, 2013 at 3:02 PM

Hi and Welcome. I had an epidural with both of my kids

• amonkeymom
    April 3, 2013 at 3:10 PM

Congrats & welcome!