Happy Homeschoolers

HisBrandy
Homeschooling an Autistic Child
December 13, 2012 at 1:01 PM

I am digging around for some information to help a friend. Conventional homeschooling materials do not always work well for autistic students. What she has tried doesn't seem to be working out so well for them.

What do you think are good curriculm providers to look at and good resources?

Replies

• elzingah36
    December 13, 2012 at 1:18 PM
    Well,I've been homeschooling my autistic son for the past 3 1/2-4 years now. What I have found is no "traditional" curriculum is going to have much of an effect on autistics because that's not how most are "wired". I actually do the "un-schooling" method. Each school day he picks what we're going to learn about. I guess technically I also throw in some unit studies methods in there as well. Each week he picks from the jar(all his ideas) and we work with that. Like this past week,he wants to learn more about the planets aligning and the solar system in general. So,I make a whole week of lesson plans math,spelling,science,&whatnot around that. Its fun not only for him but myself as well. I do this with the other two children as well. Ben is 15 (my autistic one) and really responds to this way of relaxed learning. Unfortunately,most autistic children don't respond to normal curriculum or teaching. Parents gotta get creative and figure out what their child truly responds to IMO.
    Tell your friend to relax and have fun with it....don't make this an unpleasant experience for her or her child by having strict set curriculum or teaching methods. Good luck to her,she'll be fine :)
  • HisBrandy
    December 13, 2012 at 1:25 PM

I was thinking traditional schooling would not work out so well. She is worried about keeping him on track. She is still having him tested and feels he needs to work to the standards for that.