Exclusively Pumping Mommies!

Loralismommy224
Pump on a schedule or no???
September 28, 2012 at 11:56 PM
Ok, so I've been EPing for 7 months now. For the 1st several mos, I pumped around the clock every 3 hrs (or tried to!). However, now I've been pumping whenever I can but just trying to fit in the 7 pumps/24 hrs thing. However, I've heard that its best to stick with a schedule when pumping. Is that true? I work 12-hr shifts, & I don't always get to pump at the same time every day- I just make sure I pump 4 times while I'm there. Any input would be appreciated- thanks!

Replies

• ForestFlower
    December 28, 2012 at 1:05 PM

I try to not pump less than 2 hours apart and I try not to go more than 4 hours.  I don't have a set schedule.  My day to day activities fluctuate as well as my daughter's cooperation

• MommyAmes
    December 29, 2012 at 2:24 AM
    My baby is 3 months old. When he turned 3 months (a week ago) I went down to pumping 5 times a day. I have been getting between 5 to 9 oz of milk.
  • Loralismommy224
    December 29, 2012 at 6:29 AM
    Quoting MommyAmes:

My baby is 3 months old. When he turned 3 months (a week ago) I went down to pumping 5 times a day. I have been getting between 5 to 9 oz of milk.

That's awesome that you're able to cut down your pumping frequency & still produce that much! I tried cutting back, & for a little while it worked...but then I started to lose my supply. My dd is now 10 months old, so I'm sure there are other factors that contributed to that. Now, I feel like I'm struggling just to keep my head above water : /
  • MommyAmes
    December 29, 2012 at 11:17 AM
    That stinks ! I hope mine doesn't go down. Right now I am also being able to freeze about 6 oz a day. Trying to build up my stash.

Quoting Loralismommy224:

Quoting MommyAmes: