Choosing Not to Vaccinate

lovejoshthomas
Family trying to guilt trip
January 18, 2013 at 3:24 PM

Anyone have any experience with this? Like I said before, I am new to all of this, first time mom. I'm staying with my mom and sister currently, my husband is deployed. I feel very strongly about all of this & at first I had support... now that I've done my research & it's a definite no, I will not be vaccinating, it seems like my mom does not support it at all. And that's fine, I don't need anyone's approval to raise my child the way that I feel is right in my heart. But it makes me upset that someone, especially family, is going to speak with no knowledge of the 'other side' of what vaccines are and what they contain and then talk to me like I'm crazy.

I guess I'm going to need to get used to this fast. Atleast my husband understands... 

Replies

• Baby4us09
    January 18, 2013 at 4:31 PM
    So sorry. I feel your pain. I would tell her that you are making an informed decision. She did what she felt was right and now you are doing what you feel is right. Also don't discuss it with her.
  • tansyflower
    January 18, 2013 at 4:43 PM

sometimes you just have to shut it down.  say something respectful like "thank you for your concern but this topic is not up for discussion" then redirect the conversation.  my husbands side of the family thinks i am crazy for not vaxing and so it is a subject that i refuse to discuss with them.

• emmy526
    by emmy526
    January 18, 2013 at 5:32 PM

yes, if the hounding continues, simply keep repeating, 'it's not up for discussion anymore, as i've done my research like you did yours.. the matter is now closed'.  

• nicki.hemingway
    January 18, 2013 at 6:28 PM

It took nearly 2 years before my pro-vax mother got on board with our decesion.  I think it was a combination of her finally reading the info I brought to her and seeing the long term effects in my ds.

• Proud2BWeird
    January 19, 2013 at 12:59 AM