The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Featured Posts
AmaliaD
working mom dinner issues!
by AmaliaD
February 1 at 12:08 PM

I work full time as a teacher.   I love to make my family home made meals but on work nites i get home about 5 pm, then we relax,  ds does homework, everyone seems to be starving by 6/6:30 and i have fallen into making dinners that are either frozen,  pre packaged dinners,   delivery, or overly simple stuff.    I have a crock pot but i really only make slow cooked chicken with different soups or shredded bbq chicken sandwiches.   i NEED some new ideas.   i have seached online but everything i find sound like something my family wouldnt want to eat.   if you have any ideas of recipes to make that are quick and simple please share them!! 

Replies

• WILDCATGAL78
    February 1 at 7:41 PM

Have you looked on Pinterest? Most of those are simple. I understand some ingredients you need to have but others you can make your own variation of. For example, I made taco soup last night and the receipes call for 3 types of beans. I am not a big bean person especially in soup so I only chose one type of bean to put in there. If you family likes pasta there is a lot of easy bake pastas as well. You can also stick other types of meat in your crock pot. Do you like beef? You could do a roast. You could do roast and/or ribs too.

• frndlyfn
    February 1 at 8:46 PM

How old is child(ren)?  Perhaps start a casserole the night before that you can pop in teh oven when you get home.   Spaghetti and meat sauce is not a hard dish to make.   You can premake meatloaf as well to pop in oven when you get home.

• mom2devin11005
    February 1 at 8:57 PM