The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Featured Posts
Bmat
Have you had a family member in hospital?
by Bmat
November 25, 2013 at 9:50 AM

My sister is in the hospital needing surgery right now.  Have you had family members in the hospital? What do you do for them?  I offered to come over but she didn't want me to, at least last night.

Replies

• Molimomma
    November 25, 2013 at 10:09 AM

Yes. My mom had a 14 hour surgery for colon cancer when I was a freshman in high school. She spent a week in the hospital. She was home for another 6-8 weeks after that. It was a LONG, tough recovery. 

I think it really depends what they're in the hospital for. I spent a week in the hospital when I had my son(failed induction then a c-section on day 3!). I was busy with baby so didn't need anything but help getting to the bathroom!

My mother was really drugged the first few couple days and couldn't move around because of all the tubes and "gear" she was connected to. Then later they want you sitting then eventually walking around so it's nice to have family there to help you. All my mom wanted was to be able to brush her teeth and as she was feeling better, to wash her hair(her best friend helped her wash it in the bathroom sink!). 

She may need a robe or slippers later on. She'd probably appreciate some thing to do if she's stuck in bed and not too tired. If she is there for more than a day or 2 and is allowed to eat you might want to bring her some outside food(it really depends what she had surgery for, if she has a special diet from the doctor, what meds she may be on, etc.) If she has a family at home the nicest thing may be to go to her house and bring THEM a meal, or do a household chore that might not be getting done like vacuuming or laundry.

• theloudhouse
    November 25, 2013 at 10:14 AM