NDADanceMom
"ethnic sounding names"
November 6, 2013 at 10:36 AM

I was just reading an article on yahoo about a girl named keisha that changed her name because of the taunts.  She is a bi racial girl in Missouri.  People would make fun of her for her name, including a teacher! 

The most interesting part of the article for me was that there was a study done that showed that people with "black sounding names" were profiled on job applications and such.  People with these names have a harder time getting into college and getting good jobs.  

Does this impact your opinion of a more ethnic name for your child?  As a teacher I have seen the distress that many kids feel because of their names and did stick to traditional names and spellings but many parents love to be original. 

Replies

• DACIA79
    by DACIA79
    November 6, 2013 at 10:43 AM
    Its no secret that certain names are stereotyped however It didn't influence my decision because most ethnic names don't appeal to me
    anyway.

If a name that is considered ethnic makes it to the top of my name list is must be spelled correctly.

My boys are Damien, Hunter and Connor.
  • IncognitoOne
    November 6, 2013 at 10:53 AM

I didn't put any thought into how the name sounded, other than if I liked it or not.

And I'm finding it funny, because I know a Keisha, Makeisha, and Lakeisha and they're all white. *shrug*

• squeakers2
    November 6, 2013 at 11:20 AM
    While I'm partial to "unusual" names, "ethnic" names were not a consideration. I have seen potential employees be discriminated against for their name. We took that into consideration when naming our children. Each child has the right to be called by whatever variation of their name they want, but they will still be called by their names by family. DF's son is Joby and we have an Alexis and a Zavian.
  • mommy2CTRJ
    November 6, 2013 at 12:25 PM