The CafeMom Newcomers Club

Featured Posts
luvmybabies1309
Never done this before...
June 10, 2013 at 9:12 PM

My husband, daughter, and I moved here to Petersburg, VA in October of last year.  We had our son this past March.  We have a 4 year old little girl who is very bright.  We don't know anyone here.  We left our friends back in Georgia and it's been hard to adjust to new people.  My husband suggests that I make friends who have children so that my daughter may have a playmate.  I am currently homeschooling her until we decide what educational path is right for her as far as meeting her advanced needs.  She has no one to play with and her brother is only 3 months old.  It's also probably good that I have someone to hang out with besides my husband all of the time. I'm not good with making friends, but I would like for my daughter to have someone to play with.  I hate seeing her face when she sees kids on tv playing together.  We play with her, but we're a long ways from being 4. My husband works early mornings and I am a stay at home mom.  Any advice?

Replies

• Heather101413
    June 10, 2013 at 9:28 PM

Google moms groups in your area.  Meetup.com is a great resource to find playgroups and moms groups in your area and other groups with similar interests.   We moved to California when my daughter was 2 months old and I didn't know anyone.  I joined a moms group and have made a ton of friends for myself and my daughter.  Good luck :)

• RADmomma
    June 10, 2013 at 9:29 PM
    Try the library, playground, see if Amy local schools have a playgroup or you can also contact your town office & see if they have any papers on events & groups!
  • jbirdsladie27
    June 10, 2013 at 9:31 PM
    Look for play groups in your area on FB, google, possibly even on here...
  • hugss
    by hugss
    June 10, 2013 at 9:33 PM

Lots of great ideas you wre given,
    Find your local YMCA & see if you can sign her up for any of the things they offer ;)

• ohyouknow