Fruit & Vegetable Gardening

michiganmom116
Gardening rookies?
April 12, 2010 at 2:19 PM

Is this your first or second (even third) year of gardening?  Are you growing something you've never grown before?  Feel a bit too shy to ask what you think might be silly questions? 

Tell us why you decided to garden!  Go ahead and ask those silly questions!  We're glad to have you in our group and we're happy to answer any questions!

Replies

• AWALLD
    by AWALLD
    April 12, 2010 at 5:03 PM

This is my first year gardening, I decided to garden for more than a few reasons that I can't even put an order of importance on because I think it's all important.  To know where my food comes from, to teach my toddlers where food comes from and to watch things grow and to enjoy the fruits (or veggies) of their labor , and to save $.    I've been reading up in here, getting the tips/solutions.  You have such a great group!

• ashncarson
    April 12, 2010 at 6:44 PM

this is my third year! I have the same reasons....mostly cause I love cucumbers and that was why I started...I am learning about seed planting now

• zoeysmom331
    April 12, 2010 at 6:48 PM

Well, this is my third year, but the first two I didn't do much. My first year, I only had a little garden space, about 2ft by 8 feet so I only got some cucumbers and carrots out of it. Last year, the garden in our new house was so overgrown I was only able to clear out enough space to plant a tomato and a green pepper plant (I also attempted pumpkins and watermelon, but that didn't work.

This year I'm going all out. We're tearing up that old overgrown garden and starting from scratch. I'm expecting my second baby, and I want to make homemade baby food for this little one. I want my family to start eating healthier, fresh fruits and veggies right from the garden. I'm also learning how to do home canning, so I want to make fresh things that I could go buy at the store.

• Cocamommy
    April 13, 2010 at 1:58 AM