Featured Posts
jamianne
The difference between an IEP and 504?
February 17, 2013 at 2:42 PM

I feel like this is such a silly question, but here goes: What's the difference between a 504 Plan and an IEP?  I'm just learning about IEPs since we just had my son evaluated in January and his IEP went into effect last week.  I keep seeing people mention 504 Plans and haven't heard of them.  I'm curious as to what exactly they are and how they differ from an IEP.

Replies

• frndlyfn
    February 17, 2013 at 2:55 PM

I really do not know either.

• maxswolfsuit
    Max
    February 17, 2013 at 3:05 PM

504 plans are to provide accommodations for students with various disabilities or medical conditions. They are similar to IEPs and can provide many of the same accommodations an IEP would. 

The main difference is students with 504 plans don't generally recieve ESE services. For example a student with 504 plan wouldn't go to a resource class for instruction or work with the speech pathologist at the school. But a student with a 504 could have extra time to finish work or be allowed to do work in a quiet setting.

The process for qualifying for a 504 plan is usually much faster than the IEP process. But students with 504 usually have known or formally diagnosed conditions that have been documented. In order for a student to qualify for an IEP more time is needed because the student's needs are being evaluated during the process.   

• maxswolfsuit
    Max
    February 17, 2013 at 3:06 PM

BTW, it's not a silly question at all. Many people don't much about either. 

• jamianne
    February 17, 2013 at 3:34 PM

Thanks!  :)  That would explain why no one ever mentioned a 504 plan in all the meetings I had at the school about his evaluation and IEP.  I guess it wouldn't apply to him since it's not a medical or previously diagnosed condition.  

• ladyluke2007
    February 17, 2013 at 3:40 PM

Very informative.  I didn't know the difference either.

• maxswolfsuit
    Max