are you into renaissance and sca

alexandria2
maturnity clothing for sca
June 6, 2008 at 11:28 AM
is there a store that has clothing for sca women that are having kids. i wanna be able to wear clothing of any era if i can get em in the sca regs and no i can sew to save my butt. lol thanxs for your help and any of you going to the major dinner in indiana unsure when it is but they have a major dinner every yr in indiana

Replies

• Tracys2
    by Tracys2
    June 7, 2008 at 5:29 PM
    I hope somebody answers!

I have asked a couple people (I am a total newbie, dron't even have a persona yet, still researching Asturias in N Spain).

Chatelaine said to just wear big loaner garb for 1st event and I did but it was not satisfying

One person was selling garb at the event (it was a small event and geared at newbies, none of whom had kids with them). She said to just buy a roomy chemise ans wear that a few months. Um... dunno about that.

So I asked a couple of garb laurels and they said to find a style of garb that would be loose in the belly and then you could use it after the pregnancy, too. I guess that's what I will do, if I do anything.

It seems that there should be a lot more evidence of what was worn while expecting, since the recent (early 20th century) mores about hiding pregnancy were not common in period times-- at least, my research seems to show that people were proud of pregnancy-- but not what they wore (grrr)
  • alexandria2
    June 9, 2008 at 3:43 AM
    thabnk you for your reply that was actually helpful i didnt even think of that.
  • Raine2007
    June 9, 2008 at 5:59 PM
    A good style is Italian. they tend to have tight bodice area and lose flowing skirts. I was actually wondering what to wear as well and that is what I have come up with so far.
  • twosweets
    September 12, 2008 at 2:03 PM

http://www.mccallpattern.com/item/M5647.htm??tab=list/costumes&page=all