Homeschool 4 Preschool!!

ShadowWaters
How long is your preschool day?
April 24, 2012 at 1:22 PM

I'm new to homeschooling and am a little lost on how to start. We've developed preschool goals and broke those into weekly lesson plans for our 2 year old. What I'm wondering is how much of our day should be set aside for preschool? I was thinking 3 hours; broke up into 20-30 minutes blocks within the day. Wanted opinions on if you think that is to much time, not enough time, etc. Should it be a few days a week or every weekday? How much time do you usually spend on preschool activities with your kids and how many days a week? Is it all at once or in short bursts? I just kind of want to see other parents are doing it. Thanks

Replies

• twyliatepeka
    April 24, 2012 at 1:35 PM

24 hours. lol :)  we go as long as she wants to &  when she wants. some days it is 5 minutes others it can go up to an hour it all really just depends on her mood & the activity.

• Sarahsmommy1008
    April 24, 2012 at 2:44 PM
    It seems like I've heard a recommendation somewhere that was 15 min/year, which is about what my 3 1/2 year old can handle - we read stories, practice writing, color, do some workbook pages (about 45 min) and she's at the end of her ability to concentrate. At other times of the day we may do math or alphabet while doing something else.
  • metooo
    by metooo
    April 24, 2012 at 3:25 PM

I kinda view preschool as living life. I set up activites for her as time permits. Sometimes it's everyday, othertimes its 1x a week.  It really depends on what else we have going on. When I set things up she probably spends on average 1.5 hours on the activities.  I believe very strongly in play in the preschool years though so YMMV. :)