Natural Birth & Parenting

alteschulemom
My First No 'Poo Week
November 11, 2012 at 7:25 PM

I have always hated washing my hair, it took to much time, it was wet, and then I couldn't do anything with it.  If I used the blow drier it would be a frizzy mess and it took way to long to do this.  I would usually just put it up in a ponytail and go about my day.

Last week I washed my hair with my Whole Foods Shampoo/Conditioner.  I have been using this for a few months now and I must say I kinda liked it.  It smelled like Lavender and it made my hair, eh ok.

I haven't washed my hair since.  Today I washed it with the baking soda and ACV conditioner.  I was extremely skepitcal of this and thought it was way over the top (says I who also thought cloth pads were over the top and now swear by them). 

Let me be the first to say I have fallen in love with my long brown locks all over again.  The colors it brought out, the softness of my hair.  WOW.  I am so happy with it right now.  After my SO saw it she said "Oh me next, me next!"

Just had to share.

Replies

• graycalico
    November 11, 2012 at 7:27 PM
    I've been thinking about doing this too. I think I'll start Tuesday after my dr appt. you talked me into it.
  • cryleerhi
    November 11, 2012 at 10:27 PM

I tried doing this once.  By the 2nd week I couldn't stand my hair.  It didn't smell good and it was super greasy on top and very dry on bottom.  With being pregnant the smell made me sick so I gave in and washed my hair with shampoo/ conditioner.  I would like to try it again since my hair isn't as long now but afraid I'll get the same result again. 

• chiarore
    November 11, 2012 at 11:17 PM
    I did it for two years until we moved across the country... And with the water change I never could get it quite right again! I still only shampoo once a week though with a shampoo bar, and do a vinegar rinse instead of conditioner. If you can get the balance right it does such awesome things for your hair :)