Mom Confessions

Anonymous
WHAT DO YOU THINK?
by Anonymous
January 5, 2013 at 5:30 PM

Hello everyone :)

I'm going anon, bc I'm embarrassed that I don't have more to say for myself (Although one day I will)

I'm 22 and pregnant with my first baby. I am a high school graduate, but have not attended college yet. I come from a crazy home life, I know that's not an excuse but life has been rough for me these last few years since graduation. 

Now, I have my own apt in my name, living with my long time boyfriend, my own car, and a full time job. I keep thinking about the future a lot. How am I gonna work, go to school, and handle a newborn? 

I KNOW it will be hard, but I'm not giving up on getting my schooling done. 

So my question is, what are some good career choices? I was thinking about going to become an LVN. That's 1.5 years of school. I would do that at Galen, which is a school that only does nursing programs. Then after that, I could become an RN.... However, it's a trade school. So I wouldn't feel like that's sufficent. Going to a regular college would make this process SO much longer, as I'd have to get my basics done and that'll take a couple years alone. 

I want to provide my future child with the best possible life I can. Not having a degree and a career is not an option for me. I'd feel like a failure. 

What would you suggest? What would you do? WHAT ADVICE CAN YOU OFFER A FIRST TIME MOTHER? 

WHAT ARE SOME LEGITAMATE QUICK CAREER CHOICES?

My head is spinning here, I'm sorry this post is all over the place. 

Replies

• angevil53
    January 5, 2013 at 5:32 PM
    Ultrasound tech radiology tech lpn rn are higher paying quicker school jobs. Don't settle for a certificate for anything. Get the degree.
  • Anonymous
    by Anonymous
    January 5, 2013 at 5:33 PM
    You could get a CNA and get hired at a nursing home and work towards your rn. I know some nursing homes offer to pay for school to get a person to the rn level.
  • mommybecky