Raising Special Needs Kids

lifewithbob
HE DOESN'T SEEM TO NEED SLEEP, BUT I LOOK LIKE THE WALKING DEAD.
June 29, 2013 at 1:52 AM

My little man has major sleep issue's, when school is out he doesn't sleep, it's 2;00 am  and he's in his bed singing the soundtrack to the lion king, I can barely stay awake. Is this a common autism problem? 

Replies

• mandee1503
    June 29, 2013 at 2:02 AM
    No experience but hope you get some sleep.
  • Linagma03
    June 29, 2013 at 2:14 AM

I have no experience. Hugs Momma! I hope you can get some sleep. I am sure one of the Mom's here will be able to help you out some!

• mlogsdon
    June 29, 2013 at 2:30 AM

Not sure momma, i have no experience with this, but i hope you both get some rest tonight!

• SAMI_JO
    by SAMI_JO
    June 29, 2013 at 5:07 AM

Yes! Our neuro told us that ds brain never slows down to sleep. So they put him on Clonidine to help him rest. Sometimes even with his meds, he won't sleep for 2-3 days. It is very exhausting.

• darbyakeep45
    June 29, 2013 at 6:37 AM

My son is Autistic but sleeps pretty well.  Hugs mama!

• girl_incognito
    June 29, 2013 at 7:26 AM

Yep, very common. I have Aspergers and my son does too... we both have very strange sleep habits... he stays up late and I get up very early. It's easier for us now that he is older... but man when he was little it was REALLY difficult.

It also sounds like since his routine is off... he is a bit "off" too.

How is he during the day after having nights like these? How old is your son? 

• Trabrooke
    June 29, 2013 at 7:27 AM

My child has ds and aut she is eighteen yrs old and we get between 2and 3 hours sleep a night  but she seems to manage   Hugs to you  I found something she liked and did a reward chart with stickers  might help 

• arkansasmama08
    June 29, 2013 at 9:45 AM