Featured Posts
SarahLena
Learning to Juggle and Dropping the Ball
March 5, 2012 at 12:00 AM

Hi! I'm Sarah Lena. I've been blogging since we formally referred to them as "weblogs" and, if my parents aren't reading this, I'll admit that I actually started with role-playing fan-fiction on community boards back in the early 90s, writing things that I would certainly KILL my children for coming up with now. I'm a stepmom to an 11 year old boy, a mom to a four year old boy, and a wife to a forty year old boy. Suffice it to say: I own all of the ovaries in my house.

I reside in what we call the Rocket City of Huntsville, Alabama. We're probably most famously-known for having the US Space and Rocket Center, and most recently, Antoine Dodson. Yep. Hide yo kids, hide yo wife? That's my hood! I know. I can FEEL your pride on my side of the screen.

But living in a Rocket City means that I, too, am involved in said rockets. BWAHAHAHA, no, wait, don't get to thinking that I'm an engineer or anything fancy like that - I call myself an "engineer translator". I wrangle engineers, dumbing down their layouts and drawings and thoughts and stuff into layman's terms. I also moonlight as a freelance proposal writer and coordinator. Oh, and my husband and I are both veterans of local theatre, so we work with local production companies. Oh, and I also do a lot of voiceover work regionally.

I did mention the kids, right? I feel like I'm forgetting something.

Anyway, the point is this: my life is a lot about finding the perfect balance between work and home life. I should rephrase: my life is a lot about searching for the perfect balance between work and home life. I can't say I've found it. But I do hope to relay some tips and tricks that have worked with my family - and dude, if you've got some? PLEASE THROW THEM AT ME.

(I say "dude" a lot. You've been warned.)

(Also, "y'all".)