Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
MamaJwlz
Homeschoolers in Georgia? - Help!!
December 27, 2013 at 8:45 PM

HI! My name is Lisa...I am new to the group....I joined to find out mkore about homeschooling, get some support and information and pointers for homeschoolers...

My husband and I have been discussing homeschooling for a few years now...I want to start gathering info and finding out how to get started, what I need to do, where I find the info, etc....ANY info would be great - info from homeschoolers in Georgia would be even better!

Thanks in advance!!

Replies

• JadeTigr7
    December 27, 2013 at 9:04 PM

I'm not in Ga anymore but I homeschooled there for four years.  It's ridiculously easy to homeschool.  

http://www.gadoe.org/Curriculum-Instruction-and-Assessment/Pages/Home-Schools.aspx    

That's the site that you can submit your letter of intent online, or the address to mail it to.  You have to keep attendance of 180 days, and turn that in at the end of the year.  You are supposed to do standardized testing every 3 years starting in 3rd grade but you do NOT need to turn that in, just keep in in your records in case they are asked of you (in writing).

That site also contains the laws for homeschooling.

• katyq
    by katyq
    December 27, 2013 at 9:09 PM

I am about to move to Georgia. From what I have read, you simply need to give notice of intent to homeschool at least 30 days prior to the start of each school year via an online form. You also are supposed to keep track of attendance but that is the most asinine thing I have ever heard of since you can simply create a document entitled "attendance 2013-2014" , type in 1-180 and x them all out in maybe ten minutes time should you ever gave to provide such evidence. :p

• MamaJwlz
    December 27, 2013 at 10:39 PM