Homeschooling Moms

Mweddle
homeschooling in Oklahoma. I'm new to this
by Mweddle
September 24, 2013 at 6:44 PM

Ok so my children are all in public school.  My daughter has severe ADHD and we do not want to medicate her (we tried some different meds and they all made her zombie like...) The teacher sends home notes a lot.  Anyway, it is very difficult for her to learn, especially in such a social setting so I am considering homeschooling her.  In fact I'm about 99.9 percent sure it will happen in 1st grade.

I might wait until she gets into first grade and just start there or I may pull her out this school year.   

Do you live in Oklahoma?  What are the steps I need to take to begin our homeschooling journey? I mean do I have to go somewhere or fill out paperwork or do I just take her home from school and never take her back.  lol.  I do not know what I am doing as far as this part goes! 

Replies

• Bluecalm
    September 24, 2013 at 8:13 PM

There is a post up on top of all the state's regulations. I think I've heard Ok is easy to homeschool in, but I don't know.

I would consider pulling her out of public school now in Kindergarten especially if she shows any signs of stress. I left my son in the whole year and he ended up with a stutter and constantly gnawed at his lower lip until it was red and raw. He also learned to be a helpless learner and just say the work was too hard to get out of it. I had to undo all that before he could start enjoying learning.

• MommaMeemee
    September 24, 2013 at 8:38 PM

I agree.  Check the laws for your state and go ahead and pull her.  My DD6 went to school through all of K and I'm having to start from scratch teaching her to read. It's been a little challenging, but now that we're doing it in a way that she understands she's picking it up really quickly.  I just wish we would have been able to do this last year and avoid the problems all together.