Homeschooling Moms

Connorsmommy13
Things I learned my first week
September 16, 2013 at 1:27 AM

Okay I am no expert far from it actually this is my first year (was my first week) but I learned a few things...might be doing it "wrong" but it worked for my DS (grade 3) in no order

1. Having music playing in the back ground helps

2. I plan the lesson plan but letting him decide what order we do it in works wonders.

3. He is more comfortable on the couch with a tv tray (work station) then on the ground by the coffee table (dont have a dinning room table)

4. Crumpling up the sticky notes that have each subject on  them is theaputic.

5. I have to win the battle of wills.

So that is my first week...starting my second week tommrow...he is SO EXCITED to do the "selfie" (self portate ((spelling??))

Replies

• MommaMeemee
    September 16, 2013 at 1:33 AM

So glad you had such a great start!  We are first yearer's too. I may have to steal a couple of your tips, like the music in the background, and probably the crumpling of sticky notes (have to buy some first) but I can see me doing lesson plans or trying to get my oldest to write and ending up with a giant pile of sticky notes. :D

And it's portrait =D

• Connorsmommy13
    September 16, 2013 at 1:36 AM

Quoting MommaMeemee:

So glad you had such a great start!  We are first yearer's too. I may have to steal a couple of your tips, like the music in the background, and probably the crumpling of sticky notes (have to buy some first) but I can see me doing lesson plans or trying to get my oldest to write and ending up with a giant pile of sticky notes. :D

And it's portrait =D

Ohh it was not that great of a start...tons of tatrums and tears (both of us) but trying to look on the bright side. Its really hard because my family is all against me doing this and I am a single mom.

How many are you homeschool?

• debramommyof4
    September 16, 2013 at 1:55 AM