Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
staciababy
Ideas for getting them to do their work!
September 3, 2013 at 7:12 PM

We are new to homeschooling, just started this year. They are both in the 5th grade. I have a system in which we go over instruction time for  Math,Language,and Spelling in the morning, I make a list of schoolwork for them to do, then they Skype with my mom who lives out of state for Science,History,and Reading. I am a nurse that visits patients where they live, so when they start Skype time, I leave and I'm gone anywhere from 2 to 4 hours.The problem is that they are not doing their work when I'm gone. Currently,we are going on 7.5 hours and they are still not done with their work. They called me at 3 and said they were starting Math and Language, which should not have taken anymore than about an hour and a half. That was 3 hours ago,and they are both only done with one subject. I know that they are absolulty just not doing the work when I'm not home. I have talked to them about the importance of this many times. We've talked about how they don't get to play with their friends at night because they are doing schoolwork that they could have done during the day. I know that they need breaks, but this is riduculous. Anybody have any ideas?

Replies

• TJandKarasMom
    September 3, 2013 at 7:28 PM
    I don't know!
    I have to say the skyping with your mom for some subjects is awesome! I may consider something like that myself, but my mom works more than I do so I'm not sure that would work, lol.
    My kids have to be done their work before they get to have the tv or iPods or pretty much anything besides maybe reading. They have been finishing around 1:30 and I leave between 2-2:30. I am only gone for a few hours as well (I work with kids with Autism in their homes, just one kid a day)...and I imagine my kids would do nothing while I'm gone if they had schoolwork to do.