Homeschooling Moms

craftyzenmom
Working "outside" our home
August 18, 2013 at 12:39 PM

Hi... I'm looking for ideas and advice on how to supplement our income. I've been at home with our kids for the past 13 years. Just before our twins were born in 2000 I graduated with a BA in Liberal Arts with the notion of teaching. After our kids were in the public school system for a couple of years we opted out and have been homeschooling. The idea of teaching in a classroom isn't appealing and I don't have my credential completely finished. I am looking for a way to add a bit more to our income to help with braces, a new car etc... (our van is 11 years old and fading fast). Working from home woould be optimal with twin 8th graders and a 5th grader to still keep on track. When I look for opportunities I feel like the ones I've found online are scams etc... Our area is rather rural (in Cen. Calif.) and has a very high unemeployment rate, so there are not a ton of job options. Does anyone have any personal experence with working at home in something other than selling candles or cookware to friends (that market is completely saturated and I'm not interested). After 13 years at home, my resume isn't very "corporate". Thanks for your thoughts and ideas.

Replies

• SusanTheWriter
    August 18, 2013 at 1:41 PM
    What can you do outside a traditional business structure? What are your strongest skills in your current life? Do you have hobbies that can translate into a part time income - gardening, preserving, crafting, sewing, art, writing, editing, organizing, cleaning, website design, digital art? Think like a freelancer!
  • usmom3
    by usmom3
    BJ
    August 18, 2013 at 3:51 PM

Have you thought about offering classes to the homeschool community? Or offering classes at the community center?

• TJandKarasMom
    August 18, 2013 at 6:44 PM

I attempted trying to find wah opportunities and couldn't find anything really worth it.