Homeschooling Moms

rosiemarie
What is your reason...
July 1, 2013 at 8:04 AM
I am a mom of 2 dd and live in nj. Before kids i was a teacher public school teacher in NY. Funny thing is that I do not think I could ever teach my own children!!

We do not home school. We don't know anyone who does as I do not think it is common practice where I live.

So, I was wondering what are your reason for homeschooling?

Replies

• TJandKarasMom
    July 2, 2013 at 10:30 PM
    It's the same in my state. But not really anything until high school. Middle school offers a little bit of "leveled" type classes, but not much until 7th grade, and lots more at high school.

OP-I started considering hsing when my son was in 2nd grade and his teacher flat out refused to have any different expectations for him than the other students, he is advanced and she refused to do anything to foster that. His K and 1st grade teachers were AWESOME. Always encouraging him to work harder and learn more. But his 2nd grade teacher would not do anything that required more effort on her part, and the principal backed her up completely.

My kids are now entering 5th and 6th grades and I have really realized that I can provide the best education for them. So we will be starting this fall.

And about the common core....I worked in a public school for the past 5 years, and was working on my MEd, this is a HUGE reason I am pulling my kids out. The common core is dumbing down sooo much. I also watched teachers becoming completely obsessed with ccss and not caring so much about teaching the kids but more about how to make sure they could align everything with ccss. I also, through my research for my degree, found lots of gaps in the standards and just a lot of stuff I did not agree with. I don't think I can teach in ps now, and I don't want my kids learning much of it and there is a lot being left out that I do want them to learn.