Homeschooling Moms

unsuspected
$$ How much do you spend on curriculum? $$
June 29, 2013 at 2:12 AM

Per child?  All together?

This is my first year and my head is spinning!

Replies

• debramommyof4
    June 29, 2013 at 2:27 AM

I think I spent about 100 total on my 4 early elementary kids this year, but we are going with something else now.  SO it may not have been worth it.

• unsuspected
    June 29, 2013 at 2:33 AM

Quoting debramommyof4:

I think I spent about 100 total on my 4 early elementary kids this year, but we are going with something else now.  SO it may not have been worth it.

How did you manage that?

• celticdragon77
    June 29, 2013 at 2:56 AM

I spent a lot this year so far and I have no clue how people do it for so cheap. I have a budget of $3,000 every year - books, misc materials, ink, field trips, piano lessons, art classes at the college... 

I wish someone would start a group just for living cheap as a homeschooler. Not just homeschooling related - but recipes and the etc. Because I SOOO need to learn how to live cheaper!! I get by, but not as well as I would like. Times like these, I wish I had a mom... or even a friend that was frugal. Being a newly single mom of three that works ft and homeschools... it isn't easy. I could use all the help I can get. 

BTW, your siggy is very awesome and true!!

• debramommyof4
    June 29, 2013 at 3:38 AM
    I bought my 6 and 7 year olds the complete curriculum workbooks. To use to supplement everything else.

For math the oldest 2 were going to work through the Khan Academy website.

I use education.com for my preschoolers mat. They are 3 and 4.

For lit my 7 year old is still going to read The Chronicles of Narnia ( all 7 books), Where the side Walkends, and the Phantom Tollbooth. She may also read the little house on the prairie series if we have time. I had those books in hand or the local library has them. There are lesson plans online for most of the books.