Homeschooling Moms

MelanieKross
Question for Homeschoolers!! Need Advice!!
June 24, 2013 at 5:32 PM
I am a certified elementary school teacher with a masters in literacy and a gifted certification. I just recently left public school teaching after 13 years because I strongly disagree about many issues and could no longer be a part. I am very supportive of homeschooling and think it is a very noble thing for parents who are making many sacrifices for their kids!

I am starting a new business tutoring in my community...I am also going to be a resource for homeschool families and groups. I am offering planning assistance, assistance teaching difficult concepts, homework help, substitute teaching, as well as teaching small groups special interest classes, such as art, enrichment, book clubs, listening skills, etc.

Is this something you would want as a homeschoolers? Are there other areas of need homeschooling communities need?? I really appreciate honest feedback!!

Thank you,

Melanie Kross
💫💫🌟🙈👼7⃣

Replies

• romacox
    by romacox
    June 24, 2013 at 5:37 PM

I would recommend attending your State Home School Association Annual Conference, and local co-ops to put your service out there, and to find out how you can best serve home educators needs.  Some states require an evaluation by a certified teacher.  If your State does, this would be an area you could serve, but first find out from others, who provide this service,  what is needed.  There is a lot of misinformation out there by the department of education....as you well know.

You may also want to learn about the different methods used by home educators....Home School is not the classroom.

• all2gethernow
    June 24, 2013 at 5:41 PM
    Been homeschooling for 18 years, and ran a co-op for 6. I receive emails like this all the time. My/the co-ops general thought was, why would we bring public school into our homeschool???? We generally want no shred of it. So nope, wouldn't be interested at all.