Homeschooling Moms

MABmommy
Hello!
June 14, 2013 at 1:56 AM
Hi there! I am new to the IDEA of homeschooling. My one and only son is only a year old, but homeschooling is something I recently started considering. It's kind of funny actually because I am currently going to school to become an elementary teacher. I just become more unhappy with the public school system more and more with everything I learn. And, since we will not be able to afford a private school, homeschool seemed like the next best option. My problem is that my BF is not on board. I have five years to convince him though ;-)

I'm just wondering if anyone can give me some good ideas that will help me convince him. I don't want to feel like I am alone in this because that would make it nearly impossible.

What are some experiences that have made homeschooling work in your family? What are some of the cons to homeschooling? If your kids have experienced homeschool and public school, what are their opinions of each?

Here's a big one - what social and/or sports activities do your kids participate in? Naturally, his biggest argument was the social aspect and I tried to explain that there are homeschool groups and our town has city sports teams. Somehow, that wasn't enough for him.

TIA!

Replies

• usmom3
    by usmom3
    BJ
    June 14, 2013 at 1:26 PM

Welcome to the group.

Homeschooling has helped make our family closer & stronger as a unit.

My oldest son went to PS for 7 1/2 years from Pre-K to half way through the 6TH grade. He hated PS & loved homeschooling (he graduated this year).