Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
FootballFan12
How much importance do you put on handwriting?
May 13, 2013 at 9:52 AM

My sister has her kiddos in public school. One is in K and the other in 2nd grade. The one in K is learning to recognize and write upper and lower case letters. The one in 2nd grade still writes in print but with an emphasis on spacing and sizing of the text. When I asked if he was learning cursive, she told me that they go over it but there is no real emphasis on it since it is considered obsolete. I did some checking and apparently cursive writing is now taught at the individual states discretion. You all know I am new at this, but I'd really like your opinion on this and what you do.

I think it is a lost art and I want to teach my child this when the time comes. Do you teach cursive? Do you think it is an important skill to have or do you agree that it is obsolete?

Replies

• TJandKarasMom
    May 13, 2013 at 12:10 PM

I agree with this completely.

My kids each learned the basics of cursive in ps, but we will review when we begin hsing.  I don't think enough emphasis is put on it and now that it is not part of the common core it will not be required at all in most states.  It is not required in my state now, but they still squeeze it in in 4th grade, they just don't make a big deal out of it and don't correct it when it's wrong.

Major documents such as the Consitution and Bill of Rights are written in cursive, as much of our historical documents are.  A great way to reduce the importance of those documents is to make them illegible to future generations.

Quoting tuffymama: