Homeschooling Moms

tennisgal
stick with the schedule or enjoy the season??
May 1, 2013 at 12:11 AM

I'm having a "moral" dilemma (yes, I'm being a bit dramatic). Now that spring is officially here and it's bright until after 8:00 I want to chuck the schedule, but the rational mom in me knows that this will result in frustrations with late bedtimes and chaotic days. I know this from experience b/c my DH takes a month off a Christmas and the boys went crazy without their schedule and regular chores, etc. But oh, I love those long lazy summer days, playing outside after dusk and just letting the days flow as they will. 

Do you stick with your regular schedule or do you let go and just enjoy the lazy summer days??

Replies

• Precious333
    May 1, 2013 at 12:34 AM
    Im not good at schedules, i know what i would do! Lol
  • usmom3
    by usmom3
    BJ
    May 1, 2013 at 12:52 AM
    Our everyday is scheduled only by meals & bedtime, everything else happens based on how the day unfolds.
  • celticdragon77
    May 1, 2013 at 1:39 AM

I know how you feel. I personally, can be an extreme type A person and yet very relaxed. So I often feel at odds with myself. Balance and compromise is my key.

How old are the kids and when are the bedtimes? Can you make the bedtime later, but let them sleep in longer - to make sure they still get the same amount of sleep. Still following whatever schedule you already had in place, just at later times.

• mem82
    by mem82
    May 1, 2013 at 7:07 AM
    We push bedtime back a half hour but besides that we stay on schedule. The thing with long summer days is that they start earlier, too. Lol
  • energygirl
    May 2, 2013 at 3:11 PM