Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
Busymommy1975
Homeschooling children with Dyslexia
April 24, 2013 at 2:00 AM

So I have been homeschooling my now 13 yr old DD for three years. We decided to pull her out of her PS when she finished 4th grade because they basically weren't doing enough in my opinion.  The first year was very difficult and experimental, but I finally learned her learning style and now I come up with new and different ways to teach her and keep her engaged and happy. I have seen some great changes happening, but we still have our "days". 

Does anyone have any tips for how to approach or work with our children that have to deal with dyslexia?

Blessings, 

Dawn

Replies

• romacox
    by romacox
    April 24, 2013 at 6:23 AM

Great news.  way to go

• NYCitymomx3
    April 24, 2013 at 8:48 AM

Hi Dawn.  My son (12) is also dyslexic and we've been homechooling for about 7 years.  I had a suspicion when he was 8 and still having a hard time reading since both his older sisters learned to read at 3 & 4.  I did some research and since testing was really expensice (over $3000 for a full battery of tests, not covered by insurance) I just tailored the academics as if he did have dyslexia.  Luckily, when he was 11, a research hospital nearby was offering free neuro-psychological dyslexia testing if the kids would participate in some research for them.  Ds loved the idea (they paid him over $150 for it).  A month or so later, I got the report.  He has orthographic (visual/dyseidetic) dylexia and processing speed issues.