Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
Cemommster
Out of curiousity, your scheduled day
April 9, 2013 at 9:17 AM

Do you set a limit for each class on what you need to get done for the day or a time limit?

So do you say we need to get through pages 4-8 in math or we need to do 45 minutes of math?

I was doing the pages for my 8th grader.  Some days he was ok with it , others he said it was too much.  So I decided to do a 45 min time lapse....and he got even less done.  Just wondering what others are doing.  We have taken a break from school, thinking he was overworked.

Replies

• JCB911
    by JCB911
    April 9, 2013 at 9:25 AM

Tough question.

This is my first year, and my DS is just 5.  (Technically his preschool year - or what I refer to as my "practice year")

I think taking a break is a great idea. Or even allowing the math to be done in a different way.  Depending on his level in school/math you could be able to find some great websites that he could practice on - the one's I've come across really seem to have something for every level.

I think both ways are tough - 45 minutes - if it's a bad attitude day they might just sit there and putz until time is up.  4-8 pages and they might rush through it to be done. 

You could do like the schools do - give him a number of pages AND a time limit - and if he's putzing then he can finish it later when it infringes upon HIS time. (homework).

Good luck - let us all know if you come up with a solution.

• BramblePatch
    April 9, 2013 at 9:29 AM
    We are done when they complete the work for the day. But mine are young so its usually 1-2 worksheets per subject, along with an reading and boardwork.
  • tiredmomfor2
    April 9, 2013 at 10:16 AM
    Ds's math is broken up into lessons. I write out the number of lessons that he needs to complete per day. Usually 1-2 depending on what he lesson is about. Sometimes a concept will be harder to grasp than I realised, and will let him push it back to the next day.