Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
Bluecalm
Mixing up grade levels
March 24, 2013 at 12:21 PM
Do you keep your child at one grade level for everything or differentiate depending on his/ her level? Also do you stay on the grade all year or move up when your child is ready even if it's the middle of the year?

Replies

• QueenCreole313
    March 24, 2013 at 12:29 PM

This is my first year homeschooling, but I have quickly learned that grade levels are man-made tools used to compare children. It can be used as a source of competition. I did some review with my son when we first started our home academy. He is 10. He is at a 3rd "grade level" for math and an 8th "grade level" for reading comprehension. He is also "advanced" in science. I love that I am able to follow is lead without frustating him or myself. We advance each day. I am not too concerne with him being "behind" in math. Everyday he is learning something new and stregnthen his skills in all subjects. This is all that matters in our eyes.

• oredeb
    by oredeb
    March 24, 2013 at 12:32 PM

naaaa no grade levels here, i cant even remember how old each grade level is suppose to be!!

• romacox
    by romacox
    March 24, 2013 at 12:48 PM

I don't worry too much about grade level....I adjust my teaching to the child.  So one child might be below grade level on one subject, and above on another. 

• Bluecalm
    March 24, 2013 at 1:51 PM
    Good, that's what I was planning to do, just mix things up as needed.
  • kttycat84
    March 24, 2013 at 2:25 PM

We mix it up. My 6 yo is working on 1st grade math, 2nd grade reading and social studies and 5th grade science. My younger ones aren't past k yet, but I'm pretty sure we'll do the same with them and just follow their lead.

• LostInLove2002
    March 24, 2013 at 3:38 PM