Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
JavaLadybug2
I am trying to create a coop I'm very new and me all the advice and help you can give
February 14, 2013 at 10:20 AM

What kinda things do you guys doing your coops? What kind of things that works for you or have you seen you liked? Activities? Outings?

I'm very very new at all of this but the current coop in my area want almost 300 dollars for people toto participate and that's just for 6 months and they only meet together 1 time a month and frankly that's just too much as far as I'm concerned I'm planning on creating a new 1 so that people don't have to spend an arm a leg just for the children to socialize and have a chance to learn jointly on some things..

Replies

• blueyedbaker
    February 14, 2013 at 10:44 AM

I don't belong to one. I live in a small community and I'd have to travel an hour or more to meet up with one and then they are very religious and I am not. I would love to start something around me because I know a few families who home school but I wouldn't know where to start and plus to add one more thing to my plate would be hard. 

• jen2150
    by jen2150
    February 14, 2013 at 12:04 PM
    I started my own. I am on my nook so
    I will send a more detailed response later. First find a place to meet. Many libraries have rooms you can reserve.
  • mem82
    by mem82
    February 14, 2013 at 12:29 PM
    I haven't started my own, or belonged to one but I wish you luck!
  • swim-mom72
    February 14, 2013 at 12:44 PM

That is a LOT to charge! Part of the cost is what they pay for use of the facility and insurance. Another cost, as in the case of our co-op, comes from the national group they may be a part of. And if the co-op is academic, then some of the cost could be to pay the teachers. And lastly, there is probably an up front cost to cover supplies and papper/ink.