Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
ArisMom208
k12 online school?
January 27, 2013 at 10:21 AM

I don't homeschool my daughter yet, shes not even 1 yet but i'm trying to prepare and figure out exactly what we are going to do. I was homeschooled from 7th til i graduated highschool. My grandmother just rented the books from the school district and did it that way. I would like to use an online program and i  think i like the k12 program but besides watching there videos and trying the sample lesson i know nothing about it.

Did anybody else do it?

What did you like /dislike?

How much did it cost you to get the books and stuff to get started?

Replies

• CowgirlMama0508
    January 27, 2013 at 11:38 AM
    I looked into k12 until I figured out it is b&m school just at home. I'm homeschooling to get away from public school. I don't want my children's education dictated by the government.

Good luck to you and here's a bump :-)
  • momoftwobugs
    January 27, 2013 at 11:50 AM

Check out the virtual academies post in this group. There is a lot of info about K12 in that post.

We use K12 and CowgirlMama is right, it is just B&M school at home. That being said I do have the flexibility to teach my children the way they learn best. I just have to make sure I am complying with the districts rules and regulations as far as attendance and testing. K12 is good if you need accountabilty and structure, but don't believe their advertising that says it is tailored to the child. That is simply not true.

• mem82
    by mem82
    January 27, 2013 at 12:21 PM

I haven't used K2 but here is a bump!

• mem82
    by mem82
    January 27, 2013 at 12:21 PM

Good luck!

• usmom3
    by usmom3
    BJ
    January 27, 2013 at 12:23 PM
    Keep your options open because there might be even better programmes by the time she is old enough to start one.
  • kirbymom
    January 27, 2013 at 2:23 PM

Hi ArisMom. Welcome.  :)