Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
Malley
Registering your home as a private school?
by Malley
January 26, 2013 at 10:36 AM

I'm new to all this and looked up my state laws (Louisiana) which said I could register my child as home schooling but he'd need to take the state tests, I'd need to show my curriculum, etc., or I could register as a private school and not have to do all that. That sounds better because I want freedom to plan the curriculum. I've been a public school teacher for 30 years so I have a good idea what I want to teach him.  Has anyone registered as a private school? Are there any disadvantages?.

Replies

• MommyTo5Boys
    January 26, 2013 at 10:50 AM

No idea since I'm from NY ..... but here's a BUMP!

Hopefully you can get your answer.

• Dawn07
    by Dawn07
    January 26, 2013 at 10:54 AM
    Hi, Malley. I'm from Louisiana too. For the second option all you have to do is send in a letter telling them you are homeschooling and that's it your good to go.
    The first option does require a little more but you still have the freedom to choose what curriculum you want. I am mobile right now but I will get on the computer and give you some links that help explain it more if you would like.
  • Malley
    by Malley
    January 26, 2013 at 10:57 AM

Quoting Dawn07:

Hi, Malley. I'm from Louisiana too. For the second option all you have to do is send in a letter telling them you are homeschooling and that's it your good to go.
    The first option does require a little more but you still have the freedom to choose what curriculum you want. I am mobile right now but I will get on the computer and give you some links that help explain it more if you would like.

Thanks, I'd like that! Which did you pick?

• Dawn07
    by Dawn07
    January 26, 2013 at 11:09 AM
    I will be doing the 2nd option ( letter). My daughter is turning 7 this year so this is my first year that I will actually have to let them know.

Quoting Malley:

Quoting Dawn07: