Homeschooling Moms

poohsybear
HELP... Homeschooling a 4 year old
January 25, 2013 at 10:55 AM

I am new to this. I have a almost 5 year old and a almost 2 year old. I am thinking I wanna home school beacuse I sont like the school system here. My girls are reall smart anyways but I wanna work more with them just not sure what subjects and activities we should be doing. Could you give me some pointers. Thanks

Replies

• bluerooffarm
    January 25, 2013 at 11:02 AM
    At this age, read to them, play with them, sing songs.
    My 4yo and I have a great game where we have a big box of leggos. We pick a color and pick out as many as we can in 15 seconds. Put them together. We count mine then his and he tells me who has more. Then we pick another color and do it again.
    Have fun with them. Learning is play at this age!
  • oredeb
    by oredeb
    January 25, 2013 at 11:11 AM

memorize songs, verses, (they have great memories at this age),

what blue says!!!

• JuicyRedTomato
    January 25, 2013 at 11:12 AM

I agree with Blue. 

Anything that you do at this age should be geared towards fun, not necessarily highly structured. Once my son turned 5, I noticed a huge change in his attention span. At that point, we began doing more structured learning because he seems to truly enjoy it.

• kirbymom
    January 25, 2013 at 11:19 AM

You could even do this while hopping on one foot and asking what the colors are and then falling in a heap when all is said and done.  :)  

Quoting bluerooffarm:

My 4yo and I have a great game where we have a big box of leggos. We pick a color and pick out as many as we can in 15 seconds. Put them together. We count mine then his and he tells me who has more. Then we pick another color and do it again.

• bluerooffarm
    January 25, 2013 at 11:23 AM
    That sounds like fun! Thanks!

Quoting kirbymom:

You could even do this while hopping on one foot and asking what the colors are and then falling in a heap when all is said and done.  :)