Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
paris2lmp
Unschooling? (I'm confused)
January 24, 2013 at 8:56 PM

Based on what I have read in various places, and heard from various people....."unschooling" is basically homeschooling without structure.  No workbooks, assignments, tests etc.  It also is a child-driven method (from my understanding).  Meaning that the student picks and choses what they want to learn and when, and how, with little to no parental guidance. 

Is this a correct understanding of unschooling? 

Replies

• rsrangel
    January 27, 2013 at 6:06 PM

I've never considered what you said regarding college education, but it's true!  I'm currently a college student preparing to graduate in a few months, and thinking back to when I started (what seems like) many years ago, I remember asking for study advice from other students.  I'm a laboratory science major so it's a ton of information!  People were telling me they make flash cards and study from those....memorization!  I tried and that didn't last after the 1st exam.  I learned to do my own research and textbook readings in my own way, in order to grasp the concept and therefore better understand the subjects.  Since getting rid of the flash cards I retain so much more!