Homeschooling Moms

Featured Posts
k.vickery26
new to homeschooling
January 23, 2013 at 9:18 AM
I'm really tired of the public school situations and the inappropriate things they are trying to force on my 7 & almost 9 year old girls. I've sent an interest form in to the GCA for next school year and am hopeful we are accepted. Any advice for homeschooling for the first time? I also have a one year old.

Replies

• jen2150
    by jen2150
    January 23, 2013 at 9:34 AM

Have fun, make things hands on, follow your kids interests, be flexible and don't be afraid to experiment with different methods.  There are many helpful homeschooling books out there.  I would look some up at your local library.  Remember you will learn as you go.  Listen to everything your kids are telling you.  Welcome to homeschooling.  Also remember it takes time to get the hang of homeschooling.  The first year is usually the hardest.

• mommapbear
    January 23, 2013 at 11:11 AM

im new to homeschooling too my daughter is 16 hoping to get some help in getting started nice to meet u :)

• mem82
    by mem82
    January 23, 2013 at 11:33 AM
    Good luck! You can do it!
  • oredeb
    by oredeb
    January 23, 2013 at 1:03 PM

hi vickery!! welcome

why would you have to be excepted? what is gca?

• bren_darlene
    January 23, 2013 at 1:16 PM

What state are you in?  I like Deb was wondering why you have to be "accepted"  :-)

• usmom3
    by usmom3
    BJ
    January 23, 2013 at 2:43 PM

Don't expect everything to be perfect. Find out what their learning styles are & what they are interested in, use that to help make the learning fun & engaging for both them & you.

• jak3739
    by jak3739
    January 23, 2013 at 4:34 PM