Craft Cafe

PvMomof3
knitting help
January 23, 2013 at 9:22 PM

I need help from you ladies who knit. I have a pattern for fingerless gloves that I want to do but I want to do it in sock weight yarn rather than the sport weight yarn it calls for. How do I adjust for the difference?

Replies

• sew4fun
    by sew4fun
    January 23, 2013 at 9:51 PM

I have no idea, I just learned to cast on LOL .

THIS is a site that I find easy to follow, maybe it will say something that will answer your question. I have not been able to go all the way though it yet.

http://tipnut.com/learn-how-to-knit/

• krystlbear_84
    January 23, 2013 at 9:53 PM

BUMP!

• RutterMama
    Tia
    January 23, 2013 at 11:08 PM

I wish I could help! I'm just learning to crochet again.

• Babymiamomma
    January 24, 2013 at 11:21 AM
    Oh goodness new to knitting myself , so I feel ya ! Idk the answer but try looking up online that's what I do for most my questions because I'm teaching myself! Right now I'm lil stumped .. Trying teach myself to use double point & circular needles for a specific project!! I watch alot if you tube videos etc and google nearly everything else!!
  • hazy999
    by hazy999
    January 24, 2013 at 12:29 PM

you basically have to estimate... there should be a gauge on the pattern telling you how many stitches should fit into a certain size. you just have to figure out how many stitches with the different yarn will fit in that gauge.

I also try things on myself as I go to make sure its fitting right. 

• suetoo
    by suetoo
    January 25, 2013 at 9:12 AM

Make two sample swatches. One of each yarn, then compare stitch size. It's not easy, but you can use a math ratio to inc or dec stitches as nec to get your correct size. Another possibility, is to make one size smaller or larger depending on the heaviness of the desired yarn. Or, use one size bigger or smaller needles.

• katy_kay08
    January 25, 2013 at 4:22 PM