Love & Marriage

Featured Posts
aimesnyc
Is it Abuse? (A Resource Guide)
Amy
January 10, 2014 at 11:02 AM

Hi Ladies,

As a future Social Worker, I felt it would be good to have a post in the Love and Marriage group that has information about the different types of abuse - and yes, there is more than just physical abuse.  I have listed some links below, and I hope that everyone will add more resources and /or stories so that we can keep it on top as a primary resource.  Feel free to include resources and information about abuse within an adult relationship, child abuse/neglect, and elder abuse.  It's not a fun topic, but I think it's vital that we have these resources available!

Here are a few links to get us started:

http://www.loveisrespect.org/is-this-abuse/types-of-abuse

http://www.asafeplacenh.org/abuse_types.html (be sure to donload the brochure!)

http://suite101.com/article/different-types-of-abuse-in-love-relationships-a12723

http://www.helpguide.org/mental/child_abuse_physical_emotional_sexual_neglect.htm

http://alzheimers.about.com/od/advocates/a/6_types_abuse.htm

Here's a link to a post in the Babies group for more info about domestic violence: http://www.cafemom.com/group/babies/forums/read/17029403/Dv_info?last#last

Replies

• maureen813
    August 13 at 12:03 PM
    I am an LICSW, congratulations!

Quoting MyasMommy463:

Thanks for sharing OP.. I am a social worker.. I'm an LMSW... working toward my LCSW and then my R number

• 74Angel443
    August 26 at 9:10 PM

No, but a friend invited me to her meditation class.
    This has helped me tremendously.
    I still have panic attacks but less frequently. Along with the anxiety and PTSD but breathing methods and exercises has helped me focus on something small and positive and it subsudes after a while.
    I don't think it will ever fully go away but I survived and I'm alive and that's all that matters.
    Until the next panic attack happens I will stay positive and focused.
    simple smile