Love & Marriage

Featured Posts
aimesnyc
Is it Abuse? (A Resource Guide)
Amy
January 10 at 11:02 AM

Hi Ladies,

As a future Social Worker, I felt it would be good to have a post in the Love and Marriage group that has information about the different types of abuse - and yes, there is more than just physical abuse.  I have listed some links below, and I hope that everyone will add more resources and /or stories so that we can keep it on top as a primary resource.  Feel free to include resources and information about abuse within an adult relationship, child abuse/neglect, and elder abuse.  It's not a fun topic, but I think it's vital that we have these resources available!

Here are a few links to get us started:

http://www.loveisrespect.org/is-this-abuse/types-of-abuse

http://www.asafeplacenh.org/abuse_types.html (be sure to donload the brochure!)

http://suite101.com/article/different-types-of-abuse-in-love-relationships-a12723

http://www.helpguide.org/mental/child_abuse_physical_emotional_sexual_neglect.htm

http://alzheimers.about.com/od/advocates/a/6_types_abuse.htm

Here's a link to a post in the Babies group for more info about domestic violence: http://www.cafemom.com/group/babies/forums/read/17029403/Dv_info?last#last

Replies

• DaBuzz
    by DaBuzz
    September 19 at 5:22 PM

I am also a social worker, and I am also a survivor! My first "marriage" was very abusive, I experienced every type of abuse. That lasted 14 years because I was a Christian and that's what was expected of me. I was supposed to be that "good Christian wife" and marriage was forever, no matter WHAT. My church knew but they turned a blind eye and told me they believed in reconciliation. Great. Then *I* was accused by them of having an affair as the breakdown of my marriage. I never knew betrayal could hurt so much. I had been cheated on but the church was accusing me of doing it. I was thoroughly disgusted and eventually left the church (and Christianity) as well. For good.