Love & Marriage

Featured Posts
manamott
Have you ever...
January 6, 2011 at 5:48 PM

I just started reading "The Five Love Languages" by Gary Chapman! I am only about 1/3 into it and it has already opened my eyes SO much!! I have discovered that my love language is Acts of Service which means my husband can show his love for me by helping me out with things. And his love language is Words of Affirmation which means I should be telling him the things I appreciate that he does and I should be speaking kindly to him to get better results.

I'll be the first to admit, I am not good at that. I feel like he should just know how I feel and I do things to show him by helping him out...but that's not his love language, it's mine!! It has totally made me understand and help to pay more attention to the words I am saying to him everyday!

So has anyone else read this book?! I highly recommend it to anyone. Even if your marriage is not struggling! We rarely fight or anything and haven't been married that long but I can tell you already this is going to make us even closer as a married couple!!!!

Sorry, I am just really excited about this! lol

Replies

• manamott
    January 6, 2011 at 7:17 PM

I don't think my husband will have time to read it either. I'm just going to explain to him what I read about my love language and let him take it from there!

Quoting Colie68:

Sounds good but then how would he know to help me out? He would never read the book :-(

• manamott
    January 6, 2011 at 7:18 PM

I imagine that's frustrating. If he's not willing to try it out there's not much you can do I guess. Unless maybe he'll let you just talk to him about it after you read it?!

Quoting SareyF:

I did read it and found it helpful but still am puzzled as for what his love language is and he refuses to read the book or give any of it any thought. :/

• Ohio.SAHMof2
    January 6, 2011 at 7:21 PM

That's awesome. I never thought about it to be honest with you. I will have to get it.